Home > Games > Women in games

Women in games

I’ve been working on a game with by brother and the issue of how women in games are portrayed came up. It’s a bit of an issue with me so we found ways of working bits into our game that I think will send a positive message. So with that on my mind I came across, quite randomly, this article regarding women in games, and much more importantly, this book excerpt which frames sex in a different manner. I have to say I’m pretty much in total agreement with the commodity vs performance analysis of the perception of sex. I’m really glad I have a piece of work to refer people to now when I get into conversations about this. Thank you Mr. Millar.

Categories: Games Tags: , ,
  1. October 6, 2010 at 7:36 am

    I’m not sold on the author’s models presented, but it could be that I’m missing the full-circle that I would have gotten if I had the book in hand. The author explains the commodity model, then what’s wrong with it. Then the author explains the performance model, and what’s good about it. I didn’t see how the world adopts the superior model, which I consider key in determining practicality of a given idea.

    How do you plan on incorporating these ideas into your game, or do we have to sign some NDAs? (:

    Have you considered how the idea applies to how women are vs. how you’d like them to be? I felt Jesse Schell documented that fairly well in the Art of Game Design (http://artofgamedesign.com/). I’m not inferring that the ideas are exclusive but that there’s likely not a complete overlap.

    Interesting read!

  2. dkoontz
    October 6, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I wasn’t intending to say these ideas have application in my current game, just that I’ve been thinking about some of the “women related issues” such as women as authority figures, traditional societal roles of women and so forth.

    I don’t know that there’s a practical way to get the world to adopt this model, but that doesn’t mean it’s not a good model on a personal level.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

