Home > Uncategorized > Habits

Habits

Blogging is a habit.  Posting on Facebook and Twitter are as well, but blogging is much more difficult I find.  It’s far to easy to tell yourself that what you have to say is not interesting or that it would be better served by a small tweet.  So I became lazy, gave into that voice and stopped updating things here which basically meant that I wasn’t writing anything more significant than what could fit in 140 characters (I’m not really big on the Facebook).

So, to reacap the last (almost) 2 years.

Started tons of game projects.  Cancelled most of them.  Got divorced.  Worked full time at ASU doing educational game development.

Students of mine were in the 2011 IGF Student Showcase for their game Dust for which I was super duper proud. Left ASU and am now contracting and doing my own projects a bit more full-bore. Spent lots of time with Xander. Met a wonderful woman.  Finally  found a great project that I think other people might actually be interested in playing.  Released some assets on the Unity Asset store and made approximately zero monies when not part of a madness sale.  Helped several local indies with their games which went on to make lots of monies.

Now I’m looking forward to my game being complete, or at least complete enough to Kickstart/Indie Fund.  I’ll be writing more about that on the Happy Camper Studios blog.  I’m also getting back into doing contract work, all Unity3D this time, which I of course hate rounding up as it’s lots of work for speculative returns.  Currently though I’m working with the most awesome Archaeology Southwest on a 3d kiosk to be placed in Chaco Canyon.  I’ve never worked on something that is a physical product, so  that’s pretty dang exciting.  That will be ending soon though, so then it’s back to the contractor (data) mines to find some new clients.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

